laurashelbyblog

A fine WordPress.com site

Visit to the Doctor!

on February 2, 2015

This morning I saw Dr. Taylor (1st time since surgery) and he says I’m doing great!! I have none of the complications that I’ve read about or that some others have. My 6 incision sites are healing nicely and I’ve lost 21 pounds in the past month. (11 since surgery 2 weeks ago) He took me off the blood pressure medicine (mine was a little low today – she did it twice) and one of my blood sugar meds and I’m to cut back on the other blood sugar med. My BMI is down to 31.

1st week after surgery I did clear liquids, then this past week I’ve been doing full liquids. Puree is next and I asked Jessica (his nurse/coordinator) if I could just eat soft foods (soft cheese, scrambled eggs, moist turkey or chicken) and mash them up and chew them good and she said yes! The thought of putting chicken in a blender and making it like baby food kind of disgusts me! (thankfully she didn’t think she could do that either!) Scrambled eggs will be my first try.

So….I go back to work on Wednesday. I’m still only supposed to walk and not lift things over 8 pounds. I’ll see them in a month! 😄

image


Leave a comment