laurashelbyblog

A fine WordPress.com site

Baby Steps

on December 12, 2014

Last March 1, when I turned 50, I started thinking about this path.  I didn’t tell anyone because I wasn’t sure until now that I wanted to do it.  I wanted to do my research.  My research included surfing the web, reading articles from PubMed, reading blogs, watching YouTube videos and more recently chatting with a friend who did this 4 years ago.

Early next year I will be getting a Sleeve Gastrectomy, which is a bariatric surgery. The surgeon will remove a large portion of my stomach. The new, smaller stomach is about the size of a banana. It will limit the amount of food I can eat by making me feel full after eating small amounts of food.  I have been overweight for too long and diets don’t seem to work for me. (believe me I’ve tried pretty much every one out there)  I know this is a HUGE change for me and I will have to re-learn how to eat, but with the support of my family and friends, I’m up for the challenge!

sleeve

On December 1, I discussed the possibility with my GP, Dr. Lara Falcon at the Baton Rouge Clinic.  She and I had a nice talk and she agreed that this was something that I should pursue.  I am classified as “obese” with a BMI of 34.  However my blood sugar runs high, I take blood pressure and cholesterol meds (both are controlled by meds, but I want them gone!)  My birth family’s history includes heart disease and diabetes as well.  She suggested Dr. Jonathan Taylor, who happened to have a seminar at the BTR General on Bluebonnet on December 4.  I signed up for it.  That morning they called and said it was canceled but that I could have a free consultation with him and his RN coordinator, Jessica.

On December 8 I met with Jessica and Dr. Taylor and started my journey.  She said that the next step for me would be to have a psychiatric evaluation and meet with a dietician.  I did both of those yesterday (12/11/14) and am now awaiting the next step.

I’m hoping to get this done in mid-January so that when Rayne and I go to London/Paris in mid-June I’ll be much healthier and can handle lots of walking and what I’m really looking forward to – a bike ride through the parks of London!


3 responses to “Baby Steps

  1. Susie Kerns says:

    Laura, I say a big HOORAY for you for taking care of yourself and wanting to live a healthy life! I think it’s wonderful that you are doing what YOU want to do! I have a friend at church who is going through the very same thing, hers isn’t until May and right now she’s going through psychiatric evaluations once a week until then. God Bless you in your journey, Laura, and know that those who love you are behind you 100 % ! And I’m so very thankful that you are sharing it with us! Hugs to you friend!

  2. Sue Bushey says:

    Laura you are so brave and I will praying for you. Please keep us posted as we watch God answer our prayers. Hugs and prayers

Leave a comment